Less than a week away :: Thoughts

April 1, 2010

As of yesterday we were exactly one week away from the beginning of this trip – and I must say that my level of excitement has really been boosted.  I’ve put so much work into the  planning and preparation for this trip that I now feel so ready to get out there and do some serious riding.

Right now I’d like to take this time to say a few things:

Throughout much of the planning and training for our trip, I had felt strongly that I was simply doing something that almost anyone could do if they wanted to.  I still believe that the biggest road block to get over in making a decision such as this is not allowing yourself to doubt the power of your own free will, and not talking yourself out of it.  However it has become evident to me over the past several weeks specifically that I have something that many people do not:  the full support of so many people who are important to me.

My family has been behind me the whole way. My dad was instrumental in the process of getting my bike built and ready to ride – as well as providing a great deal of moral support. In addition, my loving mom, step-dad, and three sisters have been nothing but encouraging this entire time.

I am also blessed to have been backed up by my closest friends throughout all of this – and I want to specifically acknowledge my band-mates Dave and Adam for not only their understanding in my need to step away from the group while pursuing this adventure specifically, but their unyielding support over the past four years.

I also think it would be a shame not to mention the large group of my fellow employees from Northwest Community Bank and the part that they played in this process. I thank you all for your friendship in the time that we worked together, and for making me feel like such a part of the family.

And finally, I’d like to recognize my counselor Angelo for the time and wisdom that he shared with me, and for his guidance during this period of my life.

I want to express how fortunate I feel to have such an outstanding support group – if not for you all, this trip would not be happening.  I am grateful to know you because it is your love, support, wisdom, openness, advice, patience, compromise, and understanding that have made me the person that I am – so that I owe to you. I love you all deeply, and I will miss you more than I can express.

Thank you.

One Response to “Less than a week away :: Thoughts”

  1. Nan Richter said

    Hi Matthew!
    I’m so glad you’re blogging about your ride. This is a really big deal and I know you’ll grow a lot as a person by all you’re experiencing. It looks like you’re seeing some beautiful country.
    Stay safe and healthy!
    Love, Nan

Leave a Reply

